Monday, January 30, 2023


April 25, 2012 by · Leave a Comment 

Jean-Paul Gaultier

Thierry Frémaux, the artistic director of the Cannes Film Festival, announced the selection of the jurors in the main competition today (Wednesday), surprising some observers by including a non-filmmaker in the list, French designer Jean-Paul Gaultier. “We have a tradition of inviting people who we know are cinephiles but who are not necessarily in cinema,” Frémaux explained. Others who will be participating in judging the films for the festival’s Palme d’Or award include British actor Ewan McGregor, German actress Diane Kruger, French actress Emmanuelle Devos, U.S. director Alexander Payne, and Haitian director Raoul Peck. It had previously been announced that the jury will be head by Italian director Nanni Moretti. Ordinarily eight or nine members constitute the jury, but Frémaux did not indicate when the additional members will be disclosed.