Wednesday, February 8, 2023


May 28, 2012 by · 2 Comments 

Michael Haneke’s Amour has won the top prize, the Palme d’Or, at the 65th annual Cannes Film Festival. The movie, about an elderly woman, played by Emmanuelle Riva, who suffers a series of strokes, and the husband, played by Jean-Louis Trintignant, who lovingly cares for her, was a favorite of critics from the moment it was shown. Since festival rules do not permit any film that wins one of the top three honors, Palme d’Or, Grand Prix or the Jury Prize to receive any additional honors, Haneke was ineligible to receive the award for best director. That went to Mexico’s Carlos Reygadas for the controversial Post Tenebras Lux. Nor could Riva or Trintignant take the acting awards, even though many critics enthusiastically praised their performances. Those went to Denmark’s Mads Mikkelson for The Hunt and Romania’s Cristina Flutur and Cosmina Stratan who co-starred in Beyond the Hills.

The top prizes:

Palme d’Or: Amour (Austria) by Michael Haneke; Grand Prix (Second Place): Reality (Italy) by Matteo Garrone; Jury Prize (Third Place): The Angels’ Share (Britain) by Ken Loach; Best Director: Carlos Reygadas, Post Tenebras Lux (Mexico); Best Screenplay: Beyond the Hills (Rumania), Cristian Mungiu; Best Actress: Cosmina Stratan and Cristina Flutur, Beyond the Hills; Best Actor: Mads Mikkelsen, The Hunt.