Sunday, October 2, 2022


April 28, 2014 by · Leave a Comment 

New Zealand writer/director Jane Campion (The Piano) will preside over a Cannes Film Festival jury this year that will include five women and four men. Among the women will be American writer/director Sofia Coppola (Lost in Translation, Marie-Antoinette), Iranian Actress Leila Hatami (A Separation), and South Korean actress Jeon Do-yeon, who won the Cannes Film Festival’s best-actress award in 2007 for her performance in Secret Sunshine. Among the male filmmakers in the panel are American actor Willem Dafoe, currently appearing in Wes Anderson’s Grand Budapest Hotel; Mexican actor/director Gael Garcia Bernal (Amores Perros, Y Tu Mamá También); Danish writer/director Nicolas Winding Refn, who won Cannes’ Best Director Award in 2011 for Drive; and Chinese writer-director Jia Zhangke, whose A Touch of Sin won for best screenplay at Cannes last year.